Back to IndieWire

Emmy Predictions: Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

All of last year's Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy nominees are back, but the spotlight may be on the "Abbott Elementary" freshmen.

Janelle James in “Abbott Elementary”


Last Year’s Winner:Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso”
Still Eligible: Yes.
Hot Streak: “Schitt’s Creek” star Annie Murphy ended a run of actresses winning in this category in back-to-back two-year win streaks. Interestingly enough, while the “Ted Lasso” star certainly has a chance of bringing that back, two former winners from that run, Alex Borstein (“The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel”) and Kate McKinnon (“Saturday Night Live”) are also both in contention this year.
Notable Ineligible Series: None.

This article will be updated throughout the season, along with all our predictions, so make sure to keep checking IndieWire for the latest news from the 2022 Emmys race. The nomination round of voting will take place from June 16 to June 27, with the official Emmy nominations to be announced on Tuesday, July 12. The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be given out over two consecutive nights on Saturday, September 3 and Sunday, September 4, with an edited presentation on the ceremonies to be broadcast on Saturday, September 10, at 8:00 p.m. ET on FXX. Finally, the 74rd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will take place on Monday, September 12, and air live on NBC at 8:00 p.m. ET/ 5:00 p.m. PT.

The Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy category is really the only major category for ongoing shows where all the nominees from last year are back in contention. It will be interesting to see if the race between “Ted Lasso” and “Hacks” carries on into this year as the prevailing narrative, with Hannah Waddingham and Juno Temple from the former, and Hannah Einbinder from the latter all in consideration for their second seasons.

Yvonne Orji (“Insecure”), Sarah Goldberg (“Barry”), and Zazie Beetz (“Atlanta”) have all also been nominated in the category before, and are making triumphant returns in TV seasons that provided really significant developments for their characters. There are likely some people in the TV Academy that feel the same can be said of Cynthia Nixon’s Miranda in “And Just Like That.”

“Only Murders in the Building” star Amy Ryan is not someone to count out of any awards race, but this year’s star freshman seem to be the women of “Abbott Elementary,” with comedian Janelle James stealing scenes as Principal Ava, and Sheryl Lee Ralph reminding audiences of why she’s a TV icon with her turn as Barbara Howard.

Current Contenders (In Alphabetical Order):
Alex Borstein, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
Amy Ryan, “Only Murders in the Building” (Hulu)
Cecily Strong, “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
Cynthia Nixon, “And Just Like That” (HBO Max)
Hannah Einbinder, “Hacks” (HBO Max)
Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Juno Temple, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Kate McKinnon, “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
Molly Shannon, “I Love That For You” (Showtime)
Rosie Perez, “The Flight Attendant” (HBO Max)
Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Sarah Goldberg, “Barry” (HBO)
Yvonne Orji, “Insecure” (HBO)
Zazie Beetz, “Atlanta” (FX)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to:Awards and tagged , , , ,